NAACL Business Meeting

June 11, 2013

Agenda

- Thank you to NAACL 2013 organizers
- New initiatives this year
- Election of new NAACL board members
- Treasurer's report (Joel Tetreault)
- NAACL 2013 registration stats (Priscilla Rasmussen)
- Any other business (everyone)
- EMNLP 2013 invitation (Tim Baldwin)
- ACL 2014 invitation (David Yarowsky)

NAACL 2013 organizers

General Chair:

Lucy Vanderwende, Microsoft Research

Program Co-Chairs:

Hal Daume, University of Maryland Katrin Kirchhoff, University of Washington

Local Arrangements Chair: **Priscilla Rasmussen**, ACL Business Office

Publications:

Colin Cherry, National Research Council Canada **Matt Post**, Johns Hopkins University Workshops Co-Chairs:

Luke Zettlemoyer, University of Washington Sujith Ravi, Google

Tutorials Co-Chairs:

Jimmy Lin, University of Maryland Katrin Erk, University of Texas at Austin

Demos Co-Chairs:

Chris Dyer, Carnegie Mellon University **Derrick Higgins**, Educational Testing Service Student Workshop Co-chairs and Faculty advisors:

Annie Louis, University of Pennsylvania Richard Socher, Stanford University Jacob Eisenstein, Georgia Tech Julia Hockenmaier, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Eric Ringger, Brigham Young University

Publicity:

Kristy Boyer, North Carolina State University

Sponsorship Chairs:

Patrick Pantel, Microsoft Research Dan Bikel, Google Chris Brew, Educational Testing Service Area Chairs:

Eugene Agichtein, Emory University Srinivas Bangalore, AT&T David Bean, TDW Phil Blunsom, Oxford University Jordan Boyd-Graber, University of Maryland Marine Carpuat, National Research Council Canada Joyce Chai, Michigan State University Vera Demberg, Saarland University Bill Dolan, Microsoft Research **Doug Downey**, Northwestern University Mark Dredze, HLTCOE Markus Dreyer, SDL Language Weaver Sanda Harabagiu, University of Texas at Dallas James Henderson, Xerox Guy Lapalme, Université de Montréal Alon Lavie, Carnegie Mellon University **Percy Liang**, Stanford University Johanna Moore, University of Edinburgh Ani Nenkova, University of Pennsylvania Joakim Nivre, Uppsala University **Bo Pang**, Google Zak Shafran, Oregon Health Sciences University David Traum, University of Southern California **Peter Turney**, National Research Council Canada Theresa Wilson, HLTCOE

New initiatives this year

- Videorecording the NAACL conference
 - All tutorials and oral presentations
 - Currently a 1-off experiment
 - Is it worth continuing, if it adds \$20?
- Conference handbook app
 - Replaced USB drive
 - Are you using it? Do you like it?

NAACL board elections

- Two outgoing board members:
 - Emily Bender, University of Washington
 - Mona Diab, George Washington University
- Outgoing secretary
 - Anoop Sarkar, Simon Fraser University
- Outgoing Chair
 - Chris Callison-Burch, University of Pennsylvania
- We will hold elections to replace them in September

NAACL board elections

- Nominating committee:
 - Chris Brew
 - Ted Pedersen
 - Kristina Toutanova
 - Owen Rambow
 - Christopher Manning
 - David Chiang
 - Dan Gildea

Treasurer's report (Joel)

NAACL 2013 registration stats (Priscilla)

Any other business?

EMNLP announcements (Tim)